Upcoming Conference/Events


Home Dean Office Syllabus Brochure Academic Calendar Former Dean Contact
Scroll for more menu

Faculty Agriculture Home

Faculty of


Professor Dr.Md.Asad-ud-doullah


Faculty of Agriculture
Sylhet Agricultural University
Sylhet-3100, Bangladesh
Mobile : +88 01720450595
Email : dean-agriculture@sau.ac.bd

Welcome to the Faculty of Agriculture, Sylhet Agricultural University (SAU). The Faculty was founded in 2007 to meet the increasing demand for skilled agricultural graduates. Our goal is to position our agriculture graduates to be problem solvers, project leaders, communicators, and ethical citizens of a global community. The faculty is intended impart and improve the theoretical knowledge and practical skills of students in crop science and allied disciplines so that they can keep pace with the new and up to date development in crop science contributing to the domain of knowledge through pursuing high quality education, developing technology through research and disseminating those technologies to the end users for the welfare of the nation.

We produce quality graduates with sound knowledge and skills in agriculture education, research and technology development to achieve sustainable development in the field of crop production. To ensure the quality we have excellent teaching-learning environment integrated with relevant research and practical experiences that will make students innovative and knowledgeable in the field of crop science to ensure food production and nutritional security at national and international level.

The Faculty has 11 departments: Agronomy and Haor Agriculture, Soil Science, Crop Botany and Tea Production Technology, Genetics & Plant Breeding, Horticulture, Plant Pathology and Seed Science, Entomology, Agricultural Extension Education, Agroforestry and Environmental Science, Agricultural Chemistry, Basic Science and Language. The Faculty offers B.Sc. Ag. (Hons.) degree. Ten departments (except Basic Science and Language) offer MS and PhD degrees. The course-curricula cover all possible modern and demand driven areas of crop production.

The Faculty of Agriculture has made high academic achievements. The Faculty has so far produced 450 graduates, 125 Masters and 1 PhD. They are serving many private and Govt. sectors with high appreciation. The faculty has highly qualified, trained and skilled teachers who are committed to their duties and responsibilities, with high integrity. Meanwhile, the Faculty has gained remarkable recognition in respect of teaching quality, research involvement and close contacts with the students. Outstanding academicians cum researchers are conducting research projects to address local and countrywide problems and also providing leadership and innovativeness in key disciplines of crop science that can play a major role in boosting up sustainable crop production. Many research projects funded by national and international agencies are being carried out in this faculty.

Future vision of the Faculty of Agriculture is to produce more creative, motivated and field oriented crop agriculture graduates in order to counter the challenges of changing country's as well as global needs and ensure food and nutrition security.


I encourage students to fully embrace and take full advantage of the rich learning environment available of Faculty of Agriculture at Sylhet Agricultural University.

Our Strength









Our Departments

Professor Dr. Md. Nazrul Islam


+88 01716443391

Department Home

Professor Dr. Md. Mosharaf Hossain Sarker


+88 01716165746

Department Home

Dr. Rehenuma Tabassum


+88 01754661778

Department Home

Professor Dr. M.  Shafi Ullah Bhuiyan


+88 01727618980

Department Home

Dr. Md. Mahfazur Rob


+88 01710402153

Department Home

Professor Dr. Abdul Muqit


+88 01751970558

Department Home

Professor Dr. Md. Abdur Razzak Choudhury


+88 01710898491

Department Home

Professor Dr. Md. Ruhul Amin


+88 01716599488

Department Home

Professor Dr. Mohammad Samiul Ahsan Talucder


+88 01711974124

Department Home

Professor Dr. Md. Kamrul Hasan


+88 01993176486

Department Home

Mrs. Noor-a-Jannath Tania


+88 01717767143

Department Home

Degrees and Courses

Undergraduate Programmes

  • B.Sc. in Agriculture (Hons)

Postgraduate Programmes

  • MS in Agronomy (Dept. of Agronomy and Haor Agriculture)
  • MS in Soil Science (Dept. of Soil Science)
  • MS in Crop Botany (Dept. of Crop Botany and Tea Production Technology)
  • MS in Genetics & Plant Breeding (Dept. of Genetics and Plant Breeding)
  • MS in Horticulture (Dept. of Horticulture)
  • MS in Plant Pathology (Dept. of Plant Pathology and Seed Science)
  • MS in Entomology (Dept. of Entomology)
  • MS in Agricultural Extension Education (Dept. of Agricultural Extension Education)
  • MS in Agroforestry (Dept. of Agroforestry and Environmental Science)
  • MS in Environmental Science (Dept. of Agroforestry and Environmental Science)
  • MS in Agricultural Chemistry (Dept. of Agricultural Chemistry)

Ph.D Programmes

  • Doctor of Philosophy (Dept. of Agronomy and Haor Agriculture)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Dept. of Soil Science)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Dept. of Crop Botany and Tea Production Technology)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Dept. of Plant Pathology and Seed Science)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Dept. of Horticulture)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Dept. of Agroforestry and Environmental Science)
Notice Date
News Date